Boy Scouts Of America–Allohak Council » Blennerhassett District

Blennerhassett District

Blennerhassett District

Information Page

Blennerhassett District Pack Summer Newsletter

Blennerhassett District Troop Summer Newsletter

All units membership coordinators should be in contact with Jim Simmons,, for info on the upcoming membership drive. If you see any errors or need to update your unit’s key 3 info, please let me know.

Yours in Scouting,
Todd Handley
Blennerhassett District Commissioner
740 538-7299

Here is a new Eagle Palm update that was forwarded to me.

Dear Scouters,
Earning an Eagle Palm is a rarity. But that is about to get a little easier as of August 1. Read all about it in the following link to Bryan on Scouting.

Summarizing major changes;
These changes become effective August 1, 2017.
1. If the Eagle Board of Review is August 1 or after, a new Eagle Scout can instantly receive, alongside his Eagle medal, all Eagle Palms he has earned for merit badges completed before he became an Eagle Scout. (In other words, if a scout is about to have an Eagle Board of Review, wait until August 1 or after for this to be effective.)
2. The three-month tenure requirement has been expanded to allow active participation in ANY BSA program — not just the troop and patrol. This 3 month tenure applies only to palms AFTER those earned in item 1 above.
3. The leadership requirement has been broadened to include “accepting responsibility” as well as “demonstrating leadership.”
4. The Eagle Palm board of review has been eliminated. In other words, as soon as he has earned the 5 additional Merit Badges, satisfied the 3 month tenure for participation and accepting responsibility, and had a Unit Leader Conference, he is done; he does not go to a Board of Review.

Please take time to read the FAQ to Eagle Palms in Bryan on Scouting, in the above link to see how it applies.

Todd Handley
Blennerhassett District Commissioner
740 538-7299

Blennerhassett District Leadership & Committee

The District Key 3

District Chairman Russ Skogstad
District Commissioner Todd Handley
District Executive April McFarlin,

The District Committee

Membership Chair Jim Simmons
Advancement Chair Rick Cox
Marketing Chair Christopher Burk
FOS Chair Kevin Grose
OA Chapter Advisor Rick Cox

Commissioner Staff

Cub Scout Roundtable Commissioner Amber Duffin
Boy Scout Roundtable Commissioner Steve Brown
Roundtable Commissioner Steve Brown

Commissioner Staff

Brian Long
David McClain
Phil Smith
Joel Thompson

Members of the district committee are volunteers. The district trains adult volunteers, provides district programs for units such as camporees, and Scouting shows, assists in the formation of new units, and helps cooordinate the annual giving campaign.

The district committee also provides the uit with a unit commissioner. The unit commissioner gives direct coaching and consultation to the unit committee and other adult leaders.

The volunteers on the district committee can be a helpful source to the unit committee. Call upon their guidance when needed.

Web Design Company